A Man and His Thoughts

The random thoughts of a common man

Junk Food Rehab

Temptation
I have now completed one full week of the Insanity workout program and I learned something right away (other than I am SO out of shape); healthy eating is harder than the actual workout. You don’t realize all of the temptations there are until you are actively trying to avoid them. For example, the other morning I walked into the office suite to see a raspberry danish sitting on the table for all to enjoy. This is the first time that I can think of that someone actually brought food into the suite and it just happened to be during my first week of junk food rehab. I stopped and stared longingly for a moment but eventually I walked away, which is no small feat for me. The very next morning on my way into work I was stopped at a light next to a Dunkin’ Donuts and there was an employee going from car to car passing out small sample bags. Was this some kind of cosmic joke? I love donuts and it took every ounce of willpower to say no. I briefly considered accepting them and taking them into the office but I knew that once they were in my Jeep it was all over and those delicious deep fried demons would never last the entire ride.
                                                                          
Smart Choices
I have spent the week evaluating my food choices and making a concerted effort to choose smarter. I am not a calorie counter and probably never will be but knowing the calorie counts in certain foods will help me make those smart choices. If I make the smart choice then I won’t have to count calories. I have skipped the bagels and cream cheese for breakfast and have opted for oatmeal made with Cinnamon, a little brown sugar, coconut milk and then topped with fresh blueberries and bananas. Not surprisingly, this breakfast actually kept me feeling full much longer than usual. The true test came last night when we decided to get takeout for dinner. The first test came when I went through the McDonald’s drive through to order us all fruit and yogurt parfaits. Heather wanted a diet Coke and I have a known weakness for fountain Coke. Not diet, mind you, never diet but the leaded version. It was difficult but I didn’t order a soda. Test #2 came when I went to Qdoba Mexican Grill. Normally I would order a naked Queso Burrito with cilantro lime rice, black beans, grilled chicken, roasted corn salsa, sour cream, and guacamole. This burrito is to die for…literally! It tops out at a lovely 825 calories and 33g of fat (granted, 10g are from the guacamole) so I decided to order something a little less decadent this time. Instead I had a naked Taco Salad with grilled chicken, black bean and corn salsa, fat-free picante ranch, and grilled vegetables. I specifically said no cheese but when my wife was placing the order online she accidentally checked the box. I don’t think she was trying to intentionally sabotage me…there are quicker ways to collect the insurance policy but who knows! Even with the cheese it had half the calories of the burrito and 1/3 less fat. It’s a step in the right direction. Let’s hope it’s not to late to reverse all those years of terrible eating!

2 comments on “Junk Food Rehab

  1. Jay Sackett
    September 7, 2013

    Thanks for your feedback Mrs. Hanel. Heather has encouraged me to use this as a way to share all of my observations and thoughts. She has also been the driving force behind the healthy eating. You know the saying “Behind every great man there's a great woman”.

  2. Mrs. Hanel
    September 7, 2013

    I really enjoyed reading your blog. I am an avid blog reader. I love learning from others who have already been through it, whatever “it” may be. You have a great voice in your text. And I'm in the same boat of better food choices, more veggies these days.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 7, 2013 by in Fitness, Healthy Eating.
Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Just a Girl and Her Blog

Creating a beautiful, thriving home, life, and business.

Judy H-J's Thoughts - A Twinless Twin

The random thoughts of a common man

Play.Party.Plan

The random thoughts of a common man

The random thoughts of a common man

Posed Perfection

The random thoughts of a common man

Memories By The Mile

The random thoughts of a common man

Cooking With Curls

Having all-natural fun in the kitchen!

Love Bakes Good Cakes

The random thoughts of a common man

Mamal Diane

Keeping it Simple,green living,cooking,grandparenting,giveaways

My Turn for us

The random thoughts of a common man

countrymousechronicles

A great WordPress.com site

What Will We Do Today

The random thoughts of a common man

Yesterfood

The random thoughts of a common man

The Blog of Todd

The random thoughts of a common man

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

