A Man and His Thoughts

The random thoughts of a common man

They’re Coming to Take Me Away!

This could be me!

I am a college football fan. That actually may be an understatement and using the full word might be more accurate. I am a college football FANATIC! My wife and daughters are not and don’t understand the rabid devotion a fan has for his/her favorite team (The University of Michigan in my case). On game days I wear my U of M gear, schedule all my activities so that they are finished before the kickoff and count the hours until my team wages war on the gridiron. During the game I sit on the edge of my seat, jumping up and cheering for a good play and dropping my head into my hands and shouting for a bad play. I pump my fists in jubilation and I rub my temples out of frustration. During the four hours of controlled combat I am on a first name basis with every player wearing the maize & blue and I get irritated if I’m interrupted (unless it is during a commercial). If you need me to do anything it will have to wait until halftime. This is a ritual I have enjoyed for as long as I can remember but now I get the open mouthed stare, my family looking at me like I have finally cracked. My daughters have learned to root for Michigan but they don’t care enough to sit and watch with me. However, they will humor me enough to ask if we are winning. My wife could care less but is learning to read the signs. When I came to bed last night she said “So they won?” When I asked how she knew she told me that it was because she didn’t hear much cursing. She married me, for better or worse, and from September to mid-January she will just have to accept that I may be a bit unstable. So I will continue to watch my beloved Wolverines and endure the stares until the January bowls are complete or the white coats come to take me away, whichever comes first.

The Big House – Ann Arbor, MI
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 8, 2013 by in Football, Sports.
Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Just a Girl and Her Blog

Creating a beautiful, thriving home, life, and business.

Judy H-J's Thoughts - A Twinless Twin

The random thoughts of a common man

Play.Party.Plan

The random thoughts of a common man

The random thoughts of a common man

Posed Perfection

The random thoughts of a common man

Memories By The Mile

The random thoughts of a common man

Cooking With Curls

Sometimes healthy, sometimes indulgent, always delicious!

Love Bakes Good Cakes

The random thoughts of a common man

Mamal Diane

Keeping it Simple,green living,cooking,grandparenting,giveaways

My Turn for us

The random thoughts of a common man

countrymousechronicles

A great WordPress.com site

What Will We Do Today

The random thoughts of a common man

Yesterfood

The random thoughts of a common man

The Blog of Todd

The random thoughts of a common man

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

