A Man and His Thoughts

The random thoughts of a common man

Oh the Insanity! Part 2

images (1)Two weeks! Two weeks!
I have completed two full weeks of the Insanity workout and lived to tell about it! Each day gets a little easier than the day before so my confidence level is pretty high right now. There are still frequent breaks during the workout but they are very short, just long enough to shake out the muscle tightness, and then I am back at it just as hard as before. Adding to my confidence is the difference I can see in the before and after pictures. I took a selfie one day before starting and then again yesterday and there is a noticeable difference in a couple of areas.
My neck (of all things) appears thinner, my torso has narrowed, my spare tire has shrunk and I actually see indentations where my abs resided all those years ago. The icing on the cake is the 8lbs I have lost, 5 of them in the first week! I lift weights and muscle weighs more than fat so I have never paid much attention to how much I weigh but I get on the scale every night at the gym just to make certain that I haven’t suddenly gained 20lbs. It was a huge surprise last week when the scale didn’t groan underneath me but instead stared back with 220lbs, a weight I hadn’t seen in probably 10 years. To me this was just an added bonus, along with being able to walk up the three flights of stairs to my office without gasping for air. The exciting part of this journey, at this point anyway, is that I am still in the first month of the workout. The second month introduces an entirely new set of exercises that are more difficult and the length of the workouts is about 20-30 minutes longer. Did I actually just say that this is exciting? Apparently the last two weeks have done something to my mental state as well!

Mind Over Matter
I read that completing a workout is 80% mental and only 20% physical and I have come to believe that this is correct. You have to decide on something and then commit to it because it is too easy to walk away. I also read that you have to plan your day around your workout and not plan your workout around everything else. The thought is that it is too easy to get busy and put off the workout until tomorrow. If you put it off tomorrow it is too easy to put it off another day and so on and so forth. I know I have done that with lifting many times. Once you have planned your workout time/day, keep that time consistent every day. There also needs to be some sense of accountability, something that is in your face reminding you to keep with it. My way of overcoming the mental barriers that prevent success were simple yet effective.

  1. Find an ideal workout time – for me it is about 5:45 am. I chose this time because there are no conflicts, it is a good way to start the day, I’m finished before it is time for the girls to get ready for school, and NO ONE IS AROUND TO WATCH ME!
  2. Develop a routine – For me this is getting the laptop out the night before, turning it on and putting tomorrow’s disc in so it’s ready in the morning. I then get my clothes and hand towel and set them next to the laptop so it’s a quick change and then I’m out the door. Oh yeah, I also throw a full water bottle in the fridge so it’s nice and cold in the am. In the morning I’m not delayed by getting everything ready so I can get right to it!
  3. Hold yourself accountable! – I have the workout calendar hanging on the refrigerator for all to see. Whether they look at it or not, I have no idea, but knowing that it is there for them keeps me in line. Every day I complete an exercise I check off that day on the schedule/calendar. If I miss a day I know that someone could see that. The before and after pics also help by reminding myself that if I don’t stick with it there will be no difference between the before and after. Chronicling my results in this blog for all to see helps as well. I want to be able to say that “Yes, I did it!” and then be able to post those before and after pics for all to see.
  4. No excuses! – No matter how tired you are or how sore you are you must keep pushing through, even if it is at a reduced pace. Doing something is always better than doing nothing! In the beginning I found myself thinking that I had done most of the workout so it would be OK to stop.To combat that I started saying to myself “just 5 more minutes” and after those five minutes expired “just five more minutes” until I was finished. Now the entire workout flies by quickly.

The Hardest Part
The most difficult part for me is still eating properly. My wife has been a huge help with this and has been buying me all kinds of fruits and veggies and cooking healthier for me. My biggest problem is that I was always hungry so we determined that I was not consuming enough calories to make up for what I have been burning through (in month 2 you burn roughly 1000 calories per workout!) so now I am adjusting to eating more frequently throughout the day. I actually had to put a reminder on my phone at 10am and 3pm to eat a high protein snack at work. I also consume a ridiculous amount of water every day. I already drank a fair amount but now I am drinking roughly 144 ounces of water a day, which is the equivalent of 9 standard 16oz water bottles. In the end though, if I can keep eating healthy and consistently and drink enough water, it will be all worth it!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 15, 2013 by in Fitness, Healthy Eating, Insanity.
Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Just a Girl and Her Blog

Creating a beautiful, thriving home, life, and business.

Judy H-J's Thoughts - A Twinless Twin

The random thoughts of a common man

Play.Party.Plan

The random thoughts of a common man

The random thoughts of a common man

Posed Perfection

The random thoughts of a common man

Memories By The Mile

The random thoughts of a common man

Cooking With Curls

Having all-natural fun in the kitchen!

Love Bakes Good Cakes

The random thoughts of a common man

Mamal Diane

Keeping it Simple,green living,cooking,grandparenting,giveaways

My Turn for us

The random thoughts of a common man

countrymousechronicles

A great WordPress.com site

What Will We Do Today

The random thoughts of a common man

Yesterfood

The random thoughts of a common man

The Blog of Todd

The random thoughts of a common man

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

