A Man and His Thoughts

The random thoughts of a common man

A Letter To My Daughters

October 31, 2013

Dear Princesses (for that is what you all are),

As I watched you trick or treating tonight a great sadness crept into my heart. You ran from house to house, all smiles and giggles, excited by the decorations and pleased with the amount of candy that filled your buckets but I suddenly realized that most of these moments will be lost to me as time passes. You see, these little moments bring so much joy at the time but because there are so many they get replaced over the years with newer memories or the shadow cast by major life events will block out the light of the others until you can’t see them anymore.

Merida, my rambunctious four year old, I’m afraid that I will forget how your friend held your hand when you were scared and walked you right up to the scariest house in the neighborhood.  I want to remember forever how your little legs got tired toward the end of the night and you asked me to carry your candy bucket because it was just “soooo heavy Dad”.

Cinderella, my shy and waif like eight year old, I’m afraid that I will forget how you skipped down the sidewalk without a care in the world. I want to remember how you yelled out what treat you received after each house, like it was a surprise every single time.

Ariel, at 10 the oldest and the oldest soul of the bunch, I’m afraid that I will forget how your cheeks were flush from running ahead and how you battled with your umbrella. I want to remember how, without thinking about it, you watched out for the little ones when they crossed the street.

Belle, you are my littlest princess and I am afraid I am going to forget how much fun you had trying to reorganize your sister’s candy buckets. I want to remember how you walked into the kitchen wearing the sunglasses (upside down of course!) you stole from one of those buckets.

There are countless moments like these every single day that bring a smile to my face and I wish that I could remember every single one of them. For my own benefit I am going to try and write a letter to one of you each week so that I have these memories stored somewhere other than the Swiss cheese that is my brain. Someday you may find them as interesting as I do and not only see your childhood through my eyes but understand that I notice more about you than you ever realized.

I love each and every one of you with all of my heart,

Dad

2013-06-22 13.24.46

8 comments on “A Letter To My Daughters

  1. Joy @ Yesterfood
    November 3, 2013

    This touched my heart- I have girls, so I relived some of these experiences with you. 🙂 I have a terrible memory (always have), so many of these moments are gone for me. You are wise to write them down as they happen. I wish I had done more of that!

    Thanks for joining us for Let’s Get Social Sunday today. I am following you on WordPress and on Google+.

    ~Joy @ Yesterfood

    • jaysack
      November 3, 2013

      Thank you Joy. I was surprised by the response this post has generated. I just want to capture as much of these as I can before they are gone.

  2. Pamela
    November 1, 2013

    That was beautiful Jason! The girls are very lucky. They will love and cherish your thoughts and memories!! Thanks for sharing:)

    • jaysack
      November 1, 2013

      Thank you for reading!

  3. Charity Proctor
    November 1, 2013

    So refreshing to hear a Dad’s perspective on the girls in his life. Very eloquent, Jay –and heartwarming.

    • jaysack
      November 1, 2013

      Thanks Charity! I am enjoying your blog as well. You have a gift with words and I enjoy it very much. I’ve just started using wordpress so I am now officially following countrymousechronicles. Please feel free to follow mine as well if you enjoy it!

  4. Steph
    November 1, 2013

    Oh my gosh, Jason, what a beautiful letter. This brought me to tears, as I remembered my night last night, and realized these moments are many also, but as you so eloquently wrote here, replaced with others and shadowed by major life events. What a wonderful way for your daughters to later in life see your love for them through your eyes. You may already be aware of this site – http://www.blurb.com/blog-book
    but what a great way to put your words in their hands beyond this wonderful blog you have created. I really enjoyed reading your post and freezing my memory of last night for a few moments longer.

    • jaysack
      November 1, 2013

      Thanks Steph, I just hate that all of those small moments get pushed aside over time. Thank you for telling me about blurb, it looks like something that would work perfectly for me. I am now following your blog so if you want go ahead and follow me back. If you haven’t run into this already, the blissful and domestic blog has weekend link up parties where you can post your blog to share with a large number of readers. Your blog would fit in nicely I think! http://www.blissfulanddomestic.com/

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on October 31, 2013 by in Kids, Observations and tagged , .
Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Judy H-J's Thoughts - A Twinless Twin

The random thoughts of a common man

Play.Party.Plan

The random thoughts of a common man

The random thoughts of a common man

Posed Perfection

The random thoughts of a common man

Memories By The Mile

The random thoughts of a common man

Love Bakes Good Cakes

The random thoughts of a common man

Mamal Diane

Keeping it Simple,green living,cooking,grandparenting,giveaways

My Turn for Us

The random thoughts of a common man

countrymousechronicles

A great WordPress.com site

Make More Art - Just Do Stuff

The random thoughts of a common man

Yesterfood

The random thoughts of a common man

Ingredients

The random thoughts of a common man

The Blog of Todd

The random thoughts of a common man

The Writer Next Door | Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Thriller, Short Stories & Articles

MJ and Hungryman

The random thoughts of a common man