A Man and His Thoughts

The random thoughts of a common man

Sanity Lost – Oh the Insanity Pt 5

Well I have taken quite the extended break from blogging as I couldn’t complete any of the many thoughts I had swirling around my head. Part of the problem is that in some areas I am a perfectionist and if the post isn’t just so or doesn’t express the topic exactly the way I envisioned it then I scrap it. The result was no posts in a long time. Thinking about those many topics it occurred to me that I never concluded my Insanity thread.

I completed the 60 days of Insanity!!! Of course it took me more like 72 days…

Life interrupted my quest to go totally Insane. I tried to complete the program in 60 days, I really did, but there were forces beyond my control. You see there is a giant maple tree off the southwest corner of my house that had an extremely large branch that had begun to rot at the crotch where it joined the trunk. Branches had begun to die and fall with every storm that passed through our area and with winter looming around the corner we decided to have the branch removed so that one of our Michigan snow storms or ice storms didn’t have the opportunity to weigh it down until it snapped. Did I mention that the branch hung right over the house? Being the penny pincher that I am I decided to have the branch cut down but would take care of the removal and cleanup myself. I simply asked the men taking it down to cut it into manageable pieces.

In order for them to reach the branch with the bucket truck I had to remove three panels from our privacy fence and then remove two of the support poles so, the night before they were scheduled to arrive, I was in the yard slinging around 8 foot fence sections and digging up poles anchored by concrete. The next morning as I left for work a symphony of chainsaws began to play in my back yard. It took them the better part of the morning and this was the result:

V__BD44

It may be hard to tell from this photo but those are not exactly manageable pieces. They were each at least six feet in circumference, three feet in diameter, four feet long and HEAVY! Needless to say I spent the next two days rolling them out to the curb, lifting them into the trucks of those who stopped and wanted free wood, cutting up the smaller logs and burning off the rest of the brush. Once that was done I had to re-dig the post holes, set the posts and then hang the fence back up. It felt good to be out in the fresh air (it only snowed three of the four days!) and I got a lot accomplished in a short amount of time.

What does this have to do with my Insanity workout? I’ll tell you! The first night I was so tired from moving the logs that I slept through my alarm and didn’t wake up with enough time to work out. The second day and many days after that my back was so sore that I could barely get out of bed in the morning and there was no way I could physically make it through 1 hour of such a brutal workout. Once my back started to recover I just couldn’t get back into the routine and couldn’t mentally make myself get up early every morning. There were days where I would get up and workout and there were days when the snooze button was my best friend. At this point I was no longer physically weak and sore but mentally weak. I did, however, finish the entire program.

There was a noticeable difference to my body and although I didn’t lose any weight after the first week (I lift weights and muscle weighs more than fat) I noticed that I needed to tighten my belt a couple of notches. There were actual outlines of the muscles I was training and I had more energy throughout the day. When I was doing it every day I felt absolutely amazing. I didn’t realize how much weight I had been carrying around my middle and how awful it felt by way of comparison. I could walk down the hall at work without feeling like I had to suck in my gut. I could wear some of my tighter shirts without worrying that I had a noticeable slope from my neck to my waist. I felt good again but I wasn’t satisfied by any means. Since I’m not satisfied I will NOT be posting any before/after pics yet as the journey is not complete.

I am fully aware of the fact that my mediocre results were due to my lack of discipline when it came to my diet. Since finishing Insanity I have regained my mental focus and started a rigorous weight training routine that begins at 4 a.m. every other morning and cardio at 4 a.m. on the off days. Starting out with some exercise sets a perfect tone for the rest of the day. I still feel that there is something else that could take off the rest of the fat around the belly and firm up the rest so beginning January 6th I will begin a new journey with the Focus T25. This workout was developed by the same trainer as Insanity and condenses the workout into 25 minutes. This will allow me to still lift weights instead of having to either choose one over the other or spend over 2 hours working out every day. No thanks! I love it but that’s just silliness! In addition I will be adhering to a much stricter meal plan to achieve maximum results.  Let the new journey begin!

3 comments on “Sanity Lost – Oh the Insanity Pt 5

  1. Tandra
    December 30, 2013

    Hey jay! I started T25 and had completed 3 weeks of alpha mostly modified and felt so good dropped a pant size, so now here goes nothing January will be T25 non modded and all the way through alpha and beta and Shakeology. I’m excited for the results knowing my fear of commitment and have finally gotten over the hump of I can’t be scared of this change. Looking forward to a new me in 2014!

  2. sara
    December 30, 2013

    Umm.. I’m really shocked and amazed by your dedication!! Great job, I’m heading down that path myself 🙂

    • jaysack
      December 30, 2013

      Thanks Sara. It helps to have a strong support group around you. I KNOW that you have one too!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 30, 2013 by in Fitness, Healthy Eating, Insanity, Outdoors and tagged , .

Navigation

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Just a Girl and Her Blog

Creating a beautiful, thriving home, life, and business.

Judy H-J's Thoughts - A Twinless Twin

The random thoughts of a common man

Play.Party.Plan

The random thoughts of a common man

The random thoughts of a common man

Posed Perfection

The random thoughts of a common man

Memories By The Mile

The random thoughts of a common man

Cooking With Curls

Having all-natural fun in the kitchen!

Love Bakes Good Cakes

The random thoughts of a common man

Mamal Diane

Keeping it Simple,green living,cooking,grandparenting,giveaways

My Turn for us

The random thoughts of a common man

countrymousechronicles

A great WordPress.com site

What Will We Do Today

The random thoughts of a common man

Yesterfood

The random thoughts of a common man

The Blog of Todd

The random thoughts of a common man

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

